The country has no outlet to the sea, but thanks to the geographical position Belarus is an important trade and transport corridor between Europe and the CIS countries. The territory of Belarus is water separate for basins of the Baltic and Black seas. In total 20,8 thousand rivers, with a general extent of 90,6 thousand km are. The largest rivers, more than 500 km long – Dnieper and its inflows Pripyat, Berezina, Sozh; Neman and its inflow of Viliya; The Western Dvina.

In Belarus there are 10,8 thousand lakes. The deepest, various on outlines and picturesque lakes are in the Belarusian Poozerye. The biggest lake Naroch occupies the space about 80 sq.km. Also 136 artificial reservoirs the largest of which – Vileyskoye by the sizes (79,2 sq.km) is comparable to the lake Naroch are created.

The natural vegetable cover of Belarus occupies about 65% of the space. It differs in a variety which is caused by placement of the territory in a transitional strip from Euroasian coniferous and forest to the European broad-leaved and forest zone. As a part of natural vegetation the woods which alternate with meadow and marsh communities prevail. As the main forest forming breed the pine acts. The pine woods occupy more than a half of all forest cover space.

To various character of vegetation there corresponds the fauna of the country. It is presented by inhabitants of the mixed woods, a taiga, steppes. In the deciduous and mixed woods with the developed grass cover their live also representatives of relic ancient fauna – bison. Owing to the geographical position Belarus is on crossing of important trans-European communication axes. Flat character of a relief and lack of the expressed natural boundaries on borders with neighboring countries promote creation of transhighways.

Across the territory of the country pass the shortest transport ways connecting Western and Eastern Europe to the Central and East regions of Russia, on the one hand, of the coast of the Baltic and Black seas with another. The main of them are highways: Berlin-Brest-Minsk-Moscow, and also Helsinki-Sankt-St. Petersburg-Vitebsk-Gomel-Kiev.

Administrative division

Belarus has 6 areas with the centers in Minsk, Brest, Vitebsk, Gomel, Grodno and Mogilev. Each area shares on areas, the cities and other territorial and administrative units. In Belarus more than 1000 cities, including 12 cities with the population over 100 thousand people are located.

Climate 

Climate of Belarus moderate and continental, with soft and damp winter and in the warm summer. The warmest time — from May to September; average monthly air temperature during this period fluctuates from +13 to +19 degrees Celsius. It is considered July, the cold — January warmest month.

Страна не имеет выхода к морю, но благодаря своему географическому положению Беларусь является важным торговым и транспортным коридором между Европой и странами СНГ. Территория Беларуси является водораздельной для бассейнов Балтийского и Черного морей. Всего насчитывается 20,8 тыс. рек, общей протяженностью 90,6 тыс.км. Крупнейшие реки, протяженностью более 500 км – Днепр и его притоки Припять, Березина, Сож; Неман и его приток Вилия; Западная Двина.

В Беларуси имеется 10,8 тыс. озер. Наиболее глубокие, разнообразные по очертаниям и живописные озера находятся в Белорусском Поозерье. Самое большое озеро Нарочь занимает площадь около 80 кв. км. Создано также 136 искусственных водохранилищ, крупнейшее из которых – Вилейское по своим размерам (79,2 кв. км) сопоставимо с оз. Нарочь.

Естественный растительный покров Беларуси занимает около 65% площади. Он отличается разнообразием, которое обусловлено размещением территории в переходной полосе от евразийской хвойно-лесной к европейской широколиственно-лесной зоне. В составе естественной растительности преобладают леса, которые чередуются с луговыми и болотными сообществами. Основной лесообразующей породой выступает сосна. Сосновые леса занимают более половины всей лесопокрытой площади.

Разнообразному характеру растительности соответствует животный мир страны. Он представлен обитателями смешанных лесов, тайги, степей. В лиственных и смешанных лесах с развитым травяным покровом живут и представители реликтовой древней фауны – зубры.

В силу своего географического положения Беларусь находится на пересечении важных трансъевропейских коммуникационных осей. Равнинный характер рельефа и отсутствие выраженных природных рубежей на границах с соседними странами способствуют созданию трансмагистралей.

По территории страны проходят самые краткие транспортные пути, соединяющие Западную и Восточную Европу с Центральными и Восточными районами России, с одной стороны, побережья Балтийского и Черного морей, с другой. Основными из них являются магистрали: Берлин–Брест–Минск–Москва, а также Хельсинки–Санкт-Петербург–Витебск–Гомель–Киев.

Административное деление

Беларусь имеет 6 областей с центрами в Минске, Бресте, Витебске, Гомеле, Гродно и Могилеве. Каждая область делится на районы, города и другие территориальные и административно-хозяйственные единицы. В Беларуси расположено более 1000 городов, в том числе 12 городов с населением свыше 100 тыс. человек.

Климат

Климат Беларуси умеренно-континентальный, с мягкой и влажной зимой и теплым летом. Наиболее теплое время — с мая по сентябрь; среднемесячная температура воздуха в этот период колеблется от +13 до +19 градусов по Цельсию. Самым теплым месяцем считается июль, самым холодным — январь.