The monastery was founded in 1624 by Andrei Konsovski and his brother Yan. First wooden church of the monastery was rebuilt in the 1630s, but was burned along with all the other buildings in the fire of 1644.

In 1652 the monastery was rebuilt into the stone church of St. Joseph Chosen Blessed Virgin Mary and the monastery building. The monastery complex has several times burned in fires (1656, 1740, 1835.) but every time has been restored and rebuilt. The most thorough reorganization was carried out in 1752: architectural forms of the monastic buildings acquired features baroque.

By the end of XVIII – early XIX century, Bernardine monastery occupied the entire block bounded by the streets of the Big and Small Bernardine, Zybitskoy and the area of ??the Upper Market. The ensemble consisted of a monastery church with built him fraternal housing and other stone and wooden buildings, including the dining hall, schools, hospitals, stables, brewery. The monastery was surrounded by a high stone wall with several gates, the principal of which were located in front of the church.

At present, the temple is a type of three-nave basilica with no tower. The central nave, higher pitched roof covered and ends much serving three-wall apse. Side – slightly less resolved in separate chapels, covered with cross vaults, covered lean-to roofs. There is an interesting solution of main west facade of the temple, where the main decorative elements are concentrated. The facade has a large convex plane. The central portion, the central nave, separated by pilasters with original high capitals and finished smooth Abris shield with the two currencies on the sides. Side parts are decorated with two niches, which was originally a sculpture. The main entrance is represented by a wide portal, on which there is a large three-leaved window. The side facades are more modest, they are decorated with pilasters, between which the windows.

In the 1860s the monastery was abolished, the building was confiscated by the church in 1864 for taking part in a religious uprising.

The former St. Joseph’s Church was restored in 1983. Now the building is a scientific and technical, documentation, literature and art archive of Belarus. A few surviving buildings are recently housed by the military commandant’s office and the prosecutor’s office.

The monastery is planned to be converted into a hotel complex.

Монастырь основан в 1624 году красносельским старостой Андреем Консовским и его братом Яном. Первая — деревянная — церковь монастыря была отстроена в 1630-х годах, однако сгорела вместе со всеми другими постройками в пожаре 1644 года.

В 1652 году в монастыре отстроены каменный Храм Святого Иосифа Избранника Пресвятой Марии Девы и монастырский корпус. Монастырский комплекс несколько раз горел в пожарах (1656, 1740, 1835 гг.), однако каждый раз реставрировался и перестраивался. Наиболее основательная перестройка была осуществлена в 1752 году: архитектурные формы монастырских зданий приобрели черты барокко.

К концу XVIII — началу XIX веков монастырь бернардинцев занимал целый квартал, ограниченный улицами Большой и Малой Бернардинскими, Зыбитской и площадью Верхнего рынка. Ансамбль монастыря состоял из храма с пристроенным к нему братским корпусом и прочих каменных и деревянных строений, в том числе трапезной, школы, госпиталя, конюшни, пивоварни. Монастырь был обнесен высокой каменной оградой с несколькими воротами, главные из которых располагались перед церковью.

В настоящее храм представляет собой тип трехнефной без башенной базилики. Центральный неф, более высокий, накрыт двухскатной кровлей и завершается значительно выступающей трехстенной апсидой. Боковые — несколько ниже, решены в виде отдельных каплиц, перекрытых крестовыми сводами, накрыты односкатными кровлями. Интересно решен главный западный фасад храма, где сосредоточены основные декоративные элементы. Фасад имеет значительную выпуклую плоскость. Его центральная часть, соответствующая центральному нефу, выделена высокими пилястрами со своеобразными капителями и завершена щитом плавного абриса с двумя валютами по бокам. Боковые части декорированы двумя нишами, где первоначально была установлена скульптура. Главный вход представлен широким порталом, над которым расположено большое трах лепестковое окно. Боковые фасады решены более скромно, они декорированы пилястрами, между которыми расположены оконные проемы.

В 1860-е годы монастырь был упразднён, здание конфисковано у церкви в 1864 году за участие верующих в восстании. Бывшая Церковь Святого Иосифа реставрировалась в 1983 года. В нескольких сохранившихся корпусах монастыря до последнего времени располагались военные комендатура и прокуратура..

Монастырь планируется переоборудовать под гостиничный комплекс.