In 1932, the church was closed, the State Theatre of Poland BSSR housed in it, then he converted into a movie studio. During the occupation by German troops of the temple was re-opened. After the war the building was renovated and it took the studio again. In 1975 the House of Cinema and the Museum of Belarusian Cinema housed in the building.

The building of the church is a part of the architectural ensemble of the square. Red Church was built at the initiative of Edward Voinilovich and his wife. The family lost their children, at first a 12-year-old son Symon, a few years later 19-year-old daughter, Elena. they donate his fortune to build a church in Minsk, for perpetuate the memory of children.

In December in 1910 the church was opened. In 1932, the church was closed, after which the BSSR State Polish theater housed in it, and then converted into a studio. During the occupation by German troops of the temple was re-opened. After the war the building was renovated and again took the studio. Since 1975, the building housed the House of Cinema and the Museum of Belarusian Cinema.

In 1990, the Red Church was returned to the Catholic Church.

The composition of the volume of the church, decoration motives of Romanesque architecture is used, there are details and techniques of gothic in decor and in parts of the building. The emblem of the city of Minsk is above the entrance on the gable of the church – the Virgin surrounded by angels.

Before entering the church a bronze sculpture of the Archangel Michael (1996, sculpt. I.Golubev), which has been considered long the patron saint of Belarus. At ten meters is a memorial song “The Bell of Nagasaki.” Center of the composition is a bell – a replica of the bell, “Angel,” a miracle survivor of the atomic bombing (9 avg.1945 city). The memorial song – a kind of monument to the victims of Hiroshima, Nagasaki, Chernobyl … Since the discovery (2000) bell sounded three cities at once every Sunday at 12 o’clock, as a reminder of the victims of the atom.

Здание костела входит в архитектурный ансамбль площади. Красный костел строился по инициативе Эдварда Войниловича и его жены. Семья потеряла своих детей: сначала 12-летнего сына Сымона, а через не­сколько лет 19-летнюю дочь Елену. Чтобы увековечить память детей, они жертвуют свое состояние на строительство костела в Минске.

В декабре 1910 года храм был открыт. В1932 г. костёл был закрыт, после чего в нём разместился Государственный польский театр БССР, затем его переоборудовали под киностудию. Во время оккупации города немецкими войсками храм был вновь открыт. После войны здание было реконструировано и его снова заняла киностудия. С 1975 года в здании размещался Дом Кино и Музей истории белорусского кино.

В 1990 году Красный костёл был возвращён католической церкви.

В композиции объемов храма, декоративном оформлении используются мотивы романской архитектуры, есть детали и приемы готики в декоре и в отдельных частях здания. Над входом на фронтоне кос­тела находится герб города Минска — Богоматерь в окружении ангелов.

Перед входом в костел установлена бронзовая скульптура Архангела Михаила (1996, скульпт. И.Голубев), который издавна считается святым покровителем Белару­си. В десятке метров установлена мемори­альная композиция «Колокол Нагасаки». Центром композиции является колокол — точная копия колокола «Ангел», чудом уцелевшего в атомной бомбардировке (9 авг.1945 г.). Мемориаль­ная композиция — это своего рода памятник жертвам Хиросимы, Нагасаки, Черно­быля… Со времени открытия (2000) каждое воскресенье в 12 часов колокола трех го­родов звучат одновременно, как напоминание о жертвах атома.