St Alexander Nevsky Church

Church of St. Alexander Nevsky is the only church in town, that almost completely preserved its original appearance. Consecrated on February 2, 1898. The place was chosen for the construction of a military cemetery, which was on the outskirts of Minsk, and was called wandered. Small-scale temple, rich architectural and decorative details, built in the tradition of Russian baroque church XVII – XVIII centuries.

Read more →

Church of St Roch

The existing church was consecrated in November of 1864, under the double title – Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Roch, but after it has saved title of Most Holy Trinity.

Read more →

Home and Museum of 1st RSDLP Congress

In 1898 I n Minsk, the I Congress of the Russian Social-Democratic Labour Party (RSDLP) was held. This important historical event is dedicated to one of the oldest museums in the city – I House Party Congress. His first exhibition was opened in 1923. During the WWII museum-house was burned, in1948, the remaining documents on the house has been completely restored.

Read more →

Victory Square

Plostshad Pobedy (Victory Square). This square is often called the Round by Minsk dwellers. Officially, this name existed prior to 1954, before the erection of a monument of victory. The architectural ensemble of the square began to take shape in the late 30s XX cent. In 1939 the construction of two arc-shaped houses began, which ended in 1947. Turned to the city center, they now close the main, straight stretch of Independence Avenue. Victory Monument in honor of Soviet Army soldiers, partisans and underground fighters started to build in 1950. 38-meter high monument stands out for its artistic plastic, on which all of the major sculptors were working in Belarus. On the four sides of the obelisk there are thematic bronze high reliefs: May 9, 1945, Glory to the fallen heroes, the Soviet army during World War II, partisans in Belarus. At the foot of the monument there are bronze wreaths, which symbolize the four fronts, thet participated in the liberation of Belarus. Victory Monument was inaugurated on May 9, 1954. On the day of the 17th anniversary of liberation of Minsk, July 3, 1961, at the foot of the monument was lit an eternal flame.

Read more →

Park of Maxim Gorky

Central Children’s Park of Culture and Rest named after Maxim Gorky is situated in the center of Minsk near Victory Square. Located between the streets of Yanka Kupala, Frunze, Pervomayskaya and Independence Avenue (Pr. Nezavisimosti), and today covers an area of ??28 hectares

Read more →

Park of Yanka Kupala

It is located near the intersection of Yanka Kupala Street and Independence Avenue, on the right bank of the Svisloch. Park emerged after World War II. The main part of the park was established in 1950. The main avenue of the park is located diagonally across from Independence Avenue, where the main entrance to the park, to the bend Svisloch. At the intersection of Main and Central avenues, located in the center of the park fountain.

Read more →

Belarusian State Circus

The first performance took place in a professional circus booth, expanded in the Trinity suburb of Minsk in the summer of 1853. It was an Austrian circus posters survived even the text of the time. Only in November 1884 in Minsk, at the Cathedral Square (now Square of Liberty) was the first in Belarus, a stationary wooden circus – “Circus of Nikitin Brothers” with 800 seats. In the future, the circus often changed its location: on Trinity Hill, on Komarovski field, and then – in the Governor’s Garden, and St Michael’s Square.

Read more →

Octyabrskaya square

The original name of the area is the central Square. It was designed and built up in 1949-1950. In September 1952, the area had a monument to Stalin 10 meters high.

Read more →

Officers palace

It was built in 1934-1939 by rebuilding the Intercession (Cross) Church of the former Episcopal monastery (architect Langbard). The church itself was built in the first half of the XIX century. In the late 20’s its domes were destroyed.

Read more →

Palace of Trade union

In 1949, the construction of the Palace of Trade Unions on the project by Ershov has started. The construction was completed in 1954 and opening of the Palace of Trade Unions was held on 3 July 1956. At the front of the building placed sculptures: a girl with a violin, a boy with a globe, a worker, farmer, athlete and scholar.

Read more →

Свято-Александро-Невская Церковь

Церковь во имя Святого Александра Невского — единственный храм в нашем городе, почти полностью сохранивший свой первоначальный облик. Освятили ее 2 февраля 1898 года. Местом для строительства было выбрано Военное кладбище, которое находилось на окраине Минска и называлось Долгим бродом. Небольшой по объему храм, насыщенный архитектурно-декоративными деталями, построен в традициях русского церковного барокко XVII — XVIII веков.

Читать далее →

Костел Св. Роха

Костел святого Роха, расположенный на Золотой Горке, был выстроен по проекту академика Петербургской академии художеств М.Сивицкого на месте старого обветшавшего деревянного здания костела в 1864 г.

Читать далее →

Дом- музей 1 съезда РСДРП

В Минске в1898 г. состоялся I съезд Российской социал-демократической рабочей партии (РСДРП). Этому важному историческому событию посвящен один из самых старых музеев города – Дом I съезда РСДРП. Его первая экспозиция была открыта в1923 г. В годы Великой Отечественной войны дом-музей был сожжен, в1948 г. по сохранившимся документам дом был полностью восстановлен.

Читать далее →

Площадь Победы

Нередко и сейчас эту площадь минчане называют Круглой. Официально такое название существовало до 1954 года, до возведения монумента Победы. Архитектурный ансамбль площади начал формироваться в конце 30-х гг. ХХ века. В 1939 году началось строительство двух дугообразных жилых домов, которое закончилось в 1947 году. Повернутые к центру города, они сегодня замыкают главный, прямой участок проспекта Независимости. Монумент Победы в честь воинов Советской Армии, партизан и подпольщиков начали строить в 1950 году. 38-метровый монумент выделяется своей художественной пластикой, над которой работали все крупнейшие скульпторы Беларуси. На четырех гранях обелиска размещены тематические бронзовые горельефы: 9 мая 1945 года, Слава павшим героям, Советская армия в годы Великой Отечественной войны, Партизаны Беларуси. У подножия обелиска расположены бронзовые венки, которые символизируют 4 фронта, участвовавших в освобождении Беларуси. Монумент Победы был торжественно открыт 9 мая 1954 года.

Читать далее →

Парк Горького

О создании детского парка в Минске архитекторы задумались в начале 50-х годов прошлого века. Большая молодая команда активно взялась за работу, генеральный план разрабатывали архитекторы Усова, Вараксин и Геращенко. Создание детского парка растянулось на 15 лет. Детский парк должен был стать по-настоящему волшебным. Планировалось создать так называемую Аллею сказок со скульптурами Церетели. На набережной хотели разместить «бухту юных моряков». Задумывалось, чтобы из парка дети выходили не только с радостью на лицах, но и с игрушками из детского магазина.

Читать далее →

Парк Янки Купалы

Расположен возле пересечений улиц Янки Купалы и проспекта Независимости, на правом берегу Свислочи. Парк возник после Великой Отечественной войны. Основная часть парка была основана в 1950 году. Главная аллея парка расположена по диагонали от пр. Независимости, где находится главный вход в парк, к изгибу Свислочи. На перекрестке главной и центральной аллей, в центре парка располагался фонтан.

Читать далее →

Белгосцирк

В Беларуси первое выступление профессионального цирка состоялось в балагане, развернутом в Троицком предместье Минска летом 1853 года. Это был австрийский цирк, сохранился даже текст афиши того времени. В ноябре 1884 года в Минске на Соборной площади (ныне площадь Свободы) был открыт первый в Беларуси стационарный деревянный цирк — «Цирк братьев Никитиных» на 800 мест. В дальнейшем цирк часто менял свое месторасположение: на Троицкой горе, на Комаровском поле, а затем — в Губернаторском саду и Михайловском сквере.

Читать далее →

Пл. Октябрьская

Первоначальное название площади — Центральная Площадь проектировалась и застраивалась в 1949—1950 гг. В сентябре 1952 г. на площади был установлен памятник И. В. Сталину высотой 10 м.

Читать далее →

Дом офицеров

Построен в 1934-1939 гг. путем перестройки Покровской (Крестовой) церкви бывшего архиерейского подворья (арх. И. Лангбард). Сама церковь была построена в первой половине XIX века. В конце 20-х годов были снесены ее купола.

Читать далее →

Дворец профсоюзов

В 1949 г. началось строительство Дворца профсоюзов по проекту В. Ершова. Окончание строительства — в 1954 г. Открытие дворца профсоюзов состоялось 3 июля 1956 года. На фронтоне здания размещены скульптурные композиции: девушка со скрипкой, мальчик с глобусом, рабочий, крестьянка, спортсменка и учёный.

Читать далее →