The hotel “Europe”

Respectable five-star hotel “Europe” is located in the historic and cultural center of the capital and as a newly recreated Historic Landmark. Hotel “Europe” is a hotel with a century unique history. Over the years, such famous figures as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Marc Chagall stayed here. The building of a new hotel in Minsk had two floors, but had no name. In 1884, after a fire in the hotel was called “Europe”, there was a third floor added.

Read more →

Liberty Square

The main place in the Upper Town, which housed the government and commerce was, was a modern square. In the XVI century, it was called the Upper Market, in the XIX century – the Cathedral Square, during the War of 1812, when the city was in the hands of the French – the area of ??Napoleon. And since 1917, it became known as Liberty Square.

Read more →

The National Academic Bolshoi Opera and Ballet Theatre of Belarus

The theater was created on May 25, 1933 as the State Opera and Ballet Theater of Belarus on the basis of the Belarusian opera and ballet studio. From 1940 “Bolshoi” was added, from 1964 – “Academic”. It is a major musical-theater scene of the country and one of the symbols of national culture. Since 1990 the theater operates Children’s Musical Theatre Studio.

Read more →

The Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul

It was built in 1611-1613 by Orthodox Brotherhood of St. John the Baptist’s at the expense of the richest Orthodox citizens and nobles of the Minsk Province. Brotherhood founded the monastery print shop, hospital and school, where, according to the teaching of the Renaissance tradition, taught the “Seven Arts freestyle” – Latin grammar, rhetoric, dialectic, arithmetic, geometry, astronomy and music.

Read more →

Minsk citadel

The history of the city is connected with the Minsk citadel – a place where once stood the castle, went from the city’s development.

Read more →

The Childrens Philharmonic

Grand opening of the Children’s Philharmonic Hall was held on 10 September 2011 in Minsk. This new cultural facility is located in the re-established church building of the Holy Spirit at the pl. Svobody.

Read more →

Church of St Joseph

Bernardine abbey is a part of the once existing in Minsk Bernardine complex, which also included standing standing next to Bernardine friary. It was located in the city center, close to the town hall.

Read more →

The-island-of-tears

In the bend of the river Svisloch there is a small bridge, that leads to the “Island of Tears” (“The Island of Courage and Sorrow”)/Ostrov Slyoz. Here, on 3 august 1996 the monument “Sons of the Fatherland, who died abroad” were opened. In front of the memorial, there is boulder with a bronze icon of the Mother of God and the text that explains the theme of the monument. This boulder was placed on the island in 1988.

Read more →

Trinity Suburb

Trinity Suburb is a beautiful and unique corner of the old Minsk, which is now one of the most favorite places of Minsk dwellers and guests. The occupation of the territory according to the archaeological data has began in the X century. At the beginning of the XVI century on a hill overlooking Svisloch Trinity church and monastery arose. The upland and the city suburb, which began to form, got the name from them. Most homes in the Trinity suburb were made of wood, and for a long time, it was considered a suburb of Minsk, and entered the line of the town only in the XIX century.

Read more →

Площадь Свободы

Главным местом в Верхнем городе, где размещались органы управления и концентрировалась торговля, была современная площадь Свободы. В XVI столетии она называлась Верхним рынком, в XIX веке — Соборной площадью, во время войны 1812 года, когда город находился в руках французов — площадью Наполеона. А с 1917 года она стала называться площадью Свободы.

Читать далее →

Национальный академический Большой театр оперы и балета

Театр был создан 25 мая 1933 года как Государственный театр оперы и балета Беларуси на базе Белорусской студии оперы и балета. С 1940 года – Большой, с 1964 – академический. Он является главной музыкально-театральной сценой страны и одним из символов национальной культуры. С 1990 года при театре работает Детский музыкальный театр-студия.

Читать далее →

Собор святых Петра и Павла

Построен в 1611–1613 гг. православным братством имени святого Иоанна Крестителя на средства богатейших православных горожан и дворян Минского воеводства. Братство основало при монастыре печатную мастерскую, больницу и школу, где, согласно педагогическим традициям Возрождения, обучали «Семи вольным искусствам» — латинской грамматике, риторике, диалектике, арифметике, геометрии, астрономии и музыке.

Читать далее →

Минское замчище

На древность этого района города указывают все графические и письменные источники, в которых он фигурирует под разными названиями: «Замок», «Замчище», «Старое место», «Старый город». Сохранились планы города XVIII — XIX веков, на которых зафиксированы участки оборонительного вала.

Читать далее →

Детская филармония

Торжественное открытие Детской филармонии состоялось 10 сентября 2011 года в Минске. Этот новый объект культуры разместился в воссозданном здании церкви Святого Духа на площади Свободы.

Читать далее →

Костел Св. Иосифа

Монастырь бернардинцев — часть некогда существовавшего в Минске бернардинского комплекса, включавшего также стоящий рядом монастырь бернардинок. Располагался в центре города, недалеко от ратуши.

Читать далее →

Остров слез

В излучине реки Свислочь небольшой мост ведет на «Остров слез» («Остров Мужества и Скорби»). Здесь 3 августа 1996 г. открыт памятник «Сынам Отечества, которые погибли за его пределами». Перед памятником валун с бронзовой иконой Божьей Матери и текстом, поясняющим тему памятника. Этот валун был установлен на острове еще в 1988 году.

Читать далее →

Троицкое предместье

Троицкое предместье — живописный и уникальный уголок старого Минска, который сейчас является одним из самых любимых мест отдыха минчан и гостей столицы. Заселение этой территории согласно археологическим данным началось еще в X веке. В начале XVI века на холме, возвышавшемся над берегом Свислочи, возникли Троицкая церковь и монастырь. От них и получили название возвышенность и городское предместье, которое начало формироваться на этом месте. В основном дома в Троицком предместье были деревянными, и долгое время оно считалось пригородом Минска, в черту которого оно вошло только в XIX веке.

Читать далее →