National Art Museum of Belarus

National Art Museum holding the largest collection of Belarusian and foreign pieces of art in the country is located in the centre of Minsk. The museum’s exposition and deposits consist of more than thirty thousand works forming twenty miscellaneous collections and comprising two main representative ones: the one of national art and the other of […]

Read more →

The Bolshoi Opera and Ballet Theater of Belarus

The theatre’s building is a classic example of the Soviet pre-war constructivism, and has the status of a national architectural monument. The square around the theatre was named after the Paris Commune of 1871. More than 20 thousand performances have been played and more than 200 premieres have taken place during the theatre’s history.

Read more →

Victory Museum and Park Complex

Victory Museum and Park Complex was opened in 1945 in honour of victory in the Great Patriotic War and is located in Minsk on the bank of Lake Komsomolskoe. The Museum of the Great Patriotic War History is the park’s architectural landmark. Its expositions were designed using modern multimedia technologies. Visitors can use infokiosks installed […]

Read more →

Independence Square

Independence Square is the largest square in Minsk. Its construction started in the early 1930s. At that time, it was the main square of the capital and was named after Lenin. Its underground part houses a three-level shopping and entertainment centre with a parking. The ground-level pedestrian area is decorated with a fountain, sculptural compositions, […]

Read more →

Belarusian State Circus

The Belarusian Circus is distinguished in many ways: it is the only circus in the world located in the centre of the capital and in the central street, the first stone building of a stationary circus in the USSR built after the revolution of 1917. The building is fit for any type of circus show, […]

Read more →

Railway Station Square

Today Minsk Railway Station is one of the capital’s architectural landmarks. This tremendous railway station complex will capture anyone’s attention due to its outstanding architectural style. Opposite the station there are 11-storey twin towers. This group of buildings reminding of medieval castles’ defensive towers was named “the City Gate”. The walls are richly decorated with […]

Read more →

Victory Square

Victory Square is one of the capital’s most solemn squares. A monument 38 meters high, thematic bronze alto-rilievos, bronze wreaths symbolizing 4 fronts which participated in the defence of Belarus, and the Eternal Flame – all this creates a special, majestic atmosphere.

Read more →

Church of Saints Simon and Helena

The Church of Saints Simon and Helena often called the Red Church is the most famous Catholic church in Minsk. It was founded in 1905, and its construction was funded by nobleman Edward Woynilowicz in the memory of his two children who died at an early age. In 1932 the church was closed and housed […]

Read more →

Holy Spirit Cathedral

The building of the cathedral was once part of a Bernardine convent founded in 1633. A miraculous icon of Minsk Mother of God, who is considered to be the city’s heavenly intercessor, is kept at the cathedral. The cathedral is also home to the relics of Saint Sophia Slutskaya who spent her whole life struggling […]

Read more →

Saint Peter and Paul Cathedral

The cathedral was founded in 1612 at the expense of the richest Orthodox citizens and nobility of Minsk province. During wars and religious conflicts the church was used as a fortress on numerous occasions. This is why its walls are so thick and have loopholes in them, and the windows are so high above the […]

Read more →

Национальный художественный музей Республики Беларусь

В центре Минска находится Национальный художественный музей – крупнейшее в стране собрание белорусского и зарубежного изобразительного искусства. В экспозиции и фондохранилищах музея находится более тридцати тысяч произведений, которые формируют двадцать разнообразных коллекций и составляют два главных музейных собрания: национального искусства и памятников искусства стран и народов мира.

Читать далее →

Большой театр оперы и балета Республики Беларусь

Здание театра является образцом советского довоенного конструктивизма и имеет статус памятника архитектуры национального значения. Площадь вокруг театра названа именем Парижской коммуны 1871 г. За время существования театра было поставлено более 20 тысяч спектаклей и состоялось более 200 премьер.

Читать далее →

Музейно-парковый комплекс «Победа»

Музейно-парковый комплекс «Победа» был открыт в 1945 году в честь победы в Великой Отечественной войне и расположен в Минске на берегу Комсомольского озера. Основным объектом, расположенным в парке, является музей истории Великой Отечественной войны. В оформлении экспозиций использованы современные мультимедийные технологии, в залах работают инфокиоски, на плазменных экранах демонстрируются уникальные кадры из кино- и фото-хроники […]

Читать далее →

Площадь Независимости

Площадь Независимости – крупнейшая площадь Минска, начала застраиваться в начале 30-х годов XX века как главная площадь столицы и первоначально носила имя Ленина. В подземной части площади размещен трехуровневый торгово-развлекательный центр с паркингом. Наземная пешеходная зона украшена фонтаном, скульптурными композициями, клумбами.

Читать далее →

Белгосцирк

Отличительными особенностями белорусского цирка является то, что это единственный в мире цирк, расположенный в центре столицы государства и на центральной улице, первый в СССР каменный стационар, построенный после Революции 1917 г., здание приспособлено для показа всех цирковых жанров, а так же эстрады, спорта, содержания любых животных (в том числе – морских).

Читать далее →

Привокзальная площадь

Железнодорожный вокзал в Минске сегодня – одна из визитных карточек столицы. Открытый в 2000 году грандиозный вокзальный комплекс сразу привлечет внимание своей неповторимой архитектурой. Напротив вокзала построены две одиннадцатиэтажные башни-близнецы. Комплекс зданий, слегка стилизованных под оборонительные башни древнего замка, получил название «Ворота города».  Стены богато украшены лепниной, на башнях размещены скульптуры. Так же на одной […]

Читать далее →

Площадь Победы

Площадь Победы – одна из самых торжественных площадей столицы. 38-метровый монумент, тематические бронзовые горельефы, бронзовые венки, которые символизируют 4 фронта, участвовавшие в освобождении Беларуси и Вечный огонь – все это создает особенную, величественную атмосферу.

Читать далее →

Костёл Святых Симеона и Елены

Костел святых Симеона и Елены, часто называемый Красным костелом – наиболее знаменитый католический храм Минска. Основан в 1905 году на средства дворянина Эдварда Войниловича в память его двух рано умерших детях. В 1932 г. костёл был закрыт, в нём разместился Государственный польский театр БССР, затем его переоборудовали под киностудию. После войны в здании размещались Дом Кино […]

Читать далее →

Свято-Духов кафедральный собор

Здание собора входило в комплекс католического женского монастыря бернардинок, основанного в 1633 году. В соборе хранится чудотворная икона Минской Богоматери, которую считают небесной заступницей города. Также в храме хранятся мощи святой Софии Слуцкой, которая всю жизнь боролась за сохранение православия на белорусских землях.

Читать далее →

Свято-Петро-Павловский собор

Был основан в 1612 г. на средства богатейших православных горожан и дворян Минского воеводства. Во время войн и религиозных конфликтов церкви неоднократно приходилось выполнять и оборонительную функцию, этим и обусловлена толщина стен, высокое расположение окон над землей и наличие бойниц. Собор посещал император Павел 1. В соборе хранится почитаемая икона Виленских мучеников Антония, Иоанна и […]

Читать далее →