Stone monastery complex was built, in 1625. According to inventory of 1784, almost at this place, but a few closer to the former Kosmodemyanovskoy (Kozmodemyanovskoy) street was Kosmodemyanovsky Orthodox monastery, which at the beginning of the seventeenth century had been forcibly converted to the Uniate.

During the XVIII-XIX centuries, the temple and the adjacent monastery buildings were rebuilt several times before making a present architectural appearance.

In 1741, the Bernardine monastery was damaged by fire, after which underwent renovation. In 1852, the monastery was abolished and transferred to Nesvizh. Since 1860, the old church was the Orthodox Church. The building was rebuilt many times. From the northeast to the temple U-shaped two-storey building is adjacent to the building. In 1870, the church after the repair was sanctified in the name of the Holy Spirit, and in the same year when it opened a male Orthodox monastery that existed was up to 1922.

The cathedral stores a miraculous icon of Our Lady of Minsk, which is considered the heavenly intercessor city. Also relics of Saint Sophia Slutskaya, who all his life fought for the preservation of Orthodoxy in Belarus are stored in the temple.

Каменный монастырский комплекс был построен в1652 г. По данным инвентарной описи1784 г., почти на этом месте, но несколько в сторону бывшей Космодемьяновской (Козьмодемьяновской) улицы находился православный Космодемьяновский монастырь, который в начале ХVII в был насильственно обращен в униатский.

В течение XVIII– XIX веков храм и прилегающий к нему монастырский корпус неоднократно перестраивались, прежде чем принять нынешний архитектурный облик.

В 1741 г. бернардинский монастырь пострадал от пожара, после которого подвергся реконструкции. В1852 г. монастырь был упразднен и переведен в Несвиж. С 1860 г. прежний костел стал православным храмом. Здание не раз перестраивалось. С северо-востока к храму прилегает П-образный двухэтажный корпус. В 1870 г. храм после ремонта был освещен во имя Святого Духа, и в том же году при нем открыли мужской православный монастырь, просуществовавший до 1922 г.

В соборе хранится чудотворная икона Минской Богоматери, которую считают небесной заступницей города. Также в храме хранятся мощи святой Софии Слуцкой, которая всю жизнь боролась за сохранение православия на белорусских землях.