The hotel “Europe”

Respectable five-star hotel “Europe” is located in the historic and cultural center of the capital and as a newly recreated Historic Landmark. Hotel “Europe” is a hotel with a century unique history. Over the years, such famous figures as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Marc Chagall stayed here. The building of a new hotel in Minsk had two floors, but had no name. In 1884, after a fire in the hotel was called “Europe”, there was a third floor added.

Read more →

Liberty Square

The main place in the Upper Town, which housed the government and commerce was, was a modern square. In the XVI century, it was called the Upper Market, in the XIX century – the Cathedral Square, during the War of 1812, when the city was in the hands of the French – the area of ??Napoleon. And since 1917, it became known as Liberty Square.

Read more →

The National Academic Bolshoi Opera and Ballet Theatre of Belarus

The theater was created on May 25, 1933 as the State Opera and Ballet Theater of Belarus on the basis of the Belarusian opera and ballet studio. From 1940 “Bolshoi” was added, from 1964 – “Academic”. It is a major musical-theater scene of the country and one of the symbols of national culture. Since 1990 the theater operates Children’s Musical Theatre Studio.

Read more →

The Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul

It was built in 1611-1613 by Orthodox Brotherhood of St. John the Baptist’s at the expense of the richest Orthodox citizens and nobles of the Minsk Province. Brotherhood founded the monastery print shop, hospital and school, where, according to the teaching of the Renaissance tradition, taught the “Seven Arts freestyle” – Latin grammar, rhetoric, dialectic, arithmetic, geometry, astronomy and music.

Read more →

Minsk citadel

The history of the city is connected with the Minsk citadel – a place where once stood the castle, went from the city’s development.

Read more →

The Childrens Philharmonic

Grand opening of the Children’s Philharmonic Hall was held on 10 September 2011 in Minsk. This new cultural facility is located in the re-established church building of the Holy Spirit at the pl. Svobody.

Read more →

Church of St Joseph

Bernardine abbey is a part of the once existing in Minsk Bernardine complex, which also included standing standing next to Bernardine friary. It was located in the city center, close to the town hall.

Read more →

The-island-of-tears

In the bend of the river Svisloch there is a small bridge, that leads to the “Island of Tears” (“The Island of Courage and Sorrow”)/Ostrov Slyoz. Here, on 3 august 1996 the monument “Sons of the Fatherland, who died abroad” were opened. In front of the memorial, there is boulder with a bronze icon of the Mother of God and the text that explains the theme of the monument. This boulder was placed on the island in 1988.

Read more →

Trinity Suburb

Trinity Suburb is a beautiful and unique corner of the old Minsk, which is now one of the most favorite places of Minsk dwellers and guests. The occupation of the territory according to the archaeological data has began in the X century. At the beginning of the XVI century on a hill overlooking Svisloch Trinity church and monastery arose. The upland and the city suburb, which began to form, got the name from them. Most homes in the Trinity suburb were made of wood, and for a long time, it was considered a suburb of Minsk, and entered the line of the town only in the XIX century.

Read more →